People and Places


Local youth offer


Arkansas high school students are lending their voices to Washington policies as members of U.S. Sen. John Boozman's Congressional Youth Cabinet, a program to expose students to the legislative process and opportunities for advocacy and civic engagement. Students were chosen because of their emphasis on community involvement and leadership.

Third Congressional District students participating included Samuel Cobbs of Rogers, Trent Curtis of Dover, Morgan DiBasilio of Rogers, Cora Ferguson of Fayetteville, Reeya Gandhi of Berryville, Garrett Hays of Gentry, Brian Huang of Fayetteville, Kade Jarvis of Gravette, Alex Jordan of Lincoln, Obadiah Koster of Bentonville, Zegita Rapert of Fayetteville and Elizabeth Ricker of Rogers.

The Congressional Youth Cabinet is a nonpartisan initiative that allows students to gain first-hand experience of engaging in the democratic process. Participants will attend several meetings throughout the school year. As part of the program, they will research a national issue they select and present their recommendations for Boozman at the final meeting in April.

Two locals named

to UAMS board

Carl Collier, a doctor of pharmacy, and Denise Garner, both of Fayetteville, have been named to the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Foundation Fund board of directors.

Collier is the owner of Collier Drug Stores. He represents the UAMS Northwest Arkansas campus advisory board. Garner is the founder and board chairman of Role Call, and the founder of Feed Communities and Feed Fayetteville. She represents the UAMS Psychiatric Research Institute advisory board and is a member of the UAMS Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute Foundation Fund board and the UAMS Psychiatric Research Institute Director's Club.

The UAMS Foundation Fund board members serve as ambassadors and raise public awareness of the role UAMS fills in Arkansas.

UAFS employees

honored for work

Two employees of the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith were honored for their service to the university with Lucille Speakman Excellence Awards presented Sept. 27 at the University Staff Council's annual staff meeting.

Terri Bailey of Fort Smith, piano accompanist in the music department, and Susan Buchanan of Fort Smith, administrative specialist for the honors international studies program, each received the award, which recognizes exemplary staff members at the university.

Bailey has worked at the school for 18 years, where she has played piano for the numerous jazz, chorale and other musical concerts held each year, in addition to providing private lessons and volunteering in activities at the university. Buchanan has worked at UAFS since 2012. She handles all administrative duties associated with the honors international studies program, including assisting with the interviewing process of prospective students, tracking students' grade-point averages, helping with "Maymester" arrangements and assisting honors students with their needs.

Bailey and Buchanan each will receive a $2,500 monetary award. The award is named for the late Lucille Speakman, a longtime teacher, administrator and member of the board of trustees when UAFS was a two-year community college.

Social worker earns

Dairy Hollow fellowship

Liat Katz of Rockville, Md., has been named the recipient of the "From Mental Illness to Wellness" fellowship for 2017 at the Writers' Colony at Dairy Hollow in Eureka Springs.

Katz is a licensed clinical social worker and a late-in-life writer. Her work has been published in Lilith, The Washington Post, Washingtonian, Gargoyle, Kveller and the narrative medicine websites PulseVoices and KevinMD. She is a graduate of the New Directions writing program through the Washington Center for Psychoanalysis.

"From Mental Illness to Wellness" is awarded to an author working on a nonfiction story of success about the journey from mental illness to wellness. This fellowship provides for two weeks of free residency at The Writers' Colony at Dairy Hollow.

iGive campaign

sets record

Faculty and staff at Northwest Arkansas Community College supported the institution by giving a record-setting $34,301 during an internal giving campaign known as iGive.

The internal two-week campaign, which wrapped up Sept. 22, gave faculty, staff and students the opportunity to participate in the college's philanthropic efforts. Donors had the option to designate where their support would be used -- including unrestricted gifts, programs, scholarships and the employee assistance fund, among other choices. One hundred percent of every dollar raised in the campaign is going to benefit the students and campus programs.

The 2016 campaign earned a gold award from the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations.

Kilby earns

music trophy

Christian J. Kilby, 15, recently earned his 20th national trophy in piano and violin, all of which are superior rating except for two which are excellent ratings. Three Gold Cups were received for sustained superior performances.

Kilby began playing the piano at age 5 and started playing the violin at age 11 at Elmwood Middle School in Rogers, where he earned three medals in all-region competition in addition to the 20 trophies.

A junior at Rogers High School, Kilby is the son of Dr. Marilyn F. Kilby and James A. Kilby of Rogers. He has been a student of Martha Cox for the past eight years.

Collyge achieves Top ACT Score

Nicholas Collyge, son of Sarah and Sean Collyge of Rogers, and a junior at Haas Hall Academy in Fayetteville, earned the highest possible ACT composite score of 36. The ACT consists of tests in English, mathematics, reading and science, each scored on a scale of 1--36. A student's composite score is the average of the four test scores.

Chapin earns

Eagle Scout

Michael Chapin, 18, of Berryville has attained the rank of Eagle Scout. He is the son of Kim and J.D. Chapin and a member of Troop 173 in Green Forest.

For his Eagle Scout project, he made a new park sign for the pool of the city of Berryville. The back of the sign displays a map with points of interest in Berryville. Chapin worked a total of 222 hours on the construction of the sign. A handicap-accessible walking also wasa constructed.

NAN Our Town on 10/12/2017

Log in to comment